Can I issue an OPEN command to an already open Socket?

Hi,
I am a beginner with networking messages and I am just learning what I can do with a unit that consists of a PIC32MX795 host cpu and a W5500 network chip.
I have opened a socket to transmit UDP messages and I have noticed that when I issue an OPEN command to this socket the TX_RD register is reset to ‘0’.
This makes life a bit easier as it means that I don’t have to worry about the buffer wrapping around as it would if I “followed the rules” and added my message into the buffer at the offset where the TX_RD register was pointing.
So: my question is - can I issue an OPEN command to a socket that has already been opened ?
Will this have any bad effects on other aspects of the chip’s performance ?

Thanks for any thoughts
PhilipJ

You must follow the workflow documented in the datasheet, see W5100 datasheet section 5.2. This is the only guaranteed way for operation. Therefore you must close socket before opening it. And you always must respect TX_RD pointer (and other pointers) and not assume it will always be 0.

Hi, thanks for the information. I am using a W5500 and there doesn’t seem to be a similar section in the W5500 datasheet so is it ok to assume these instructions are compatible for this chip?
I wasn’t planning to assume that the TX_RD was ‘0’ I just hoped that I could reset it back to zero after each message send, but I will follow your advice.
Regards
PhilipJ

Yes, algorithms described in W5100 datasheet apply. You can’t, and should not reset pointers, they must be operated (read and some of them updated when needed) as described in that section.

OK thanks
PhilipJ

Hi again, I hope I am not being a pain but I have another oddity happening.
I set up my code as you suggested:
read TX_FSR (this returns 0x0800 as I have 8 sockets)
read TX_RD
write data into the TX_BUF starting at this address
add my message size (in this test case 250 bytes) to TX_RD and write this into TX_WR
issue a SEND command