[From QnA]Two WIZ810MJ connected crossover cable for ping

I am a professional test developer, trying to use two WIZ810MJ modules for passive loop-back production tests. I am using one module as a master (sends a ping and checks the response), and the other as a slave (responds to a ping from the master).

Basically, if two modules are connected via a conventional network switch the modules start up (Magjack LEDs active) and the ping works perfectly.

However, if I directly connect the same two modules via crossed network cable after powering them up, the modules do not ‘wake up’ (no activity on the Magjack LEDs) and the ping test fails. I must first connect the modules to the network switch to wake them up, for the ping to then work through direct connection.

Please note that I do not have the option to connect the modules via a switch - they must work the first time they are powered up and directly connected by crossed network connection.

If possible I would prefer to leave the software unchanged and physically modify the module(s) if possible. Please advise what I must do to modify the modules for ping tests with crossed network cable.

Thank you.

Brendan

Dear customer,

Without interfacing MCU, the two LED of WIZ810MJ must be activated if the power (3.3V) and reset signal were successfully supplied. (Link LED must be ON, ACT LED must be blinking).

So please check the power line (3.3V, GND) and reset signal.

The reset signal timing must be ‘low’ more than 2us and set to ‘high’ and maintains ‘high’.

For more detailed information about resset signal, please refer to the ‘AC characteristics Reset Timing’ of W5100 datasheet.

Thanks,

WIZnet

Thank you for your reply.

Following investigations and hard-wire modification to the WIZ810MJ board, the problem was solved.