Link LED

I am new to TCPIP and I am figuring it out as I go.
When I power up the W5500 chip with no micro connected should the link LED come on when an ethernet cable is plugged into the RJ45 jack.
The cable has been tested with other products and is good.

I am not getting the link LED on when I plug in a cable, what would commonly cause this if it is abnormal.

Hi,
I think you are referring to a standard WIZ550IO module…
If so you have two LEDs (watching cable socket) one yellow on the bottom right and one green on the bottom left side.
Powering the module (without MPU and without resetting the module) without cable attached is all off.
When you insert the cable, the yellow LED is steady on and waiting a few seconds the green starts flashing (when router start to try a communication with it).
Please note that at this point IP is no set and MAC address is almost certainly random since you have to set it after a reset.
While under normal conditions (with MPU connected that drive the W550IO) little change, the yellow LED is always on with the cable connected while the green LED flashes more frequently (we say that there is more movement).

Thank you for the reply
I have a W5500 chip on a custom board
We are not using the module at this time.
It is just the W5500 with no SPI connections.
I am giving the chip power and plugging in the cable to the RJ45 jack.
I was told to expect the link led to turn on, it does not.
I understand there is a Micro controller on the module, I do not have one.
So the chip is not configured, no MAC, nothing.

It was suggested that I should include a schematic snippet for everyone to look at.
From the W5500 to the magnetics chip is from the sample schematic.
From the magnetics chip to the RJ45 is like the integrated magnetics in the J1B1211CCD.

I am seeing the link pulse at the magnetics chip.