Managing RX buffer pointers

I’m new to Wiznet. I have a wiz550io connected to a Microchip 16F1847.
After resetting the wiz550io, I can receive a packet, and send a packet via TCP. I can’t set up for the next packet.
I’m comparing the Sn_RX_RD to the Sn_RX_WR to see if new data came. After reading the packet, I try to advance the Sn_RX_RD to equal the Sn_RX_WR. It doesn’t store the new Sn_RX_RD value. As a consequence, I always think I’ve received new data via TCP.

This is my reset code:

void reset_RXBUFF_PNTRS(){
output_low(SPI_ENABLE);
spi_write(0x00);
spi_write(SOCR_RX_RD0); //0x28
spi_write(SOC0_REG|SPI_CNT_CNT_WR|SPI_OP_MODE1); //0x08|0x04|0x01 or 0xD
spi_write(SOCK_RX_WR_BF_PNT_MSB); //example 1
spi_write(0x00);
spi_write(SOCR_RX_RD1); //0x29
spi_write(SOC0_REG|SPI_CNT_CNT_WR|SPI_OP_MODE1); //0x08|0x04|0x01 or 0xD
spi_write(SOCK_RX_WR_BF_PNT_LSB); //example 110
output_high(SPI_ENABLE);
delay_us(10);
}

I read the RD and WR pointers before running reset_RXBUFF_PNTRS()
I read the RD and WR pointers after running reset_RXBUFF_PNTRS() and there is absolutely no change.

Once I get this understood and operational, I will have to figure out how to handle the roll over.

It would be a whole lot easier to re-set the WR pointer to zero. Is the RX_WR pointer a read only register?
How should I handle the roll over? With a 2K buffer, mask the address with 0x03FF?

Thanks!

Mike,

Please refer to W5100 datasheet wiznet.co.kr/wp-content/uplo … v1.2.6.pdf for detailed explanation of pointer management - starting with Chapter 5 “Functional description”. W5500 is similar to W5100 in design, thus most rules will apply.

You already have register called Sn_RX_RSR, which has the same information you need.

This is correct - to have Sn_RX_RD pointer change you should issue RECV command. Until you do it, RD pointer will read old value.